A Beginners Guide to Astrology

A Beginners Guide to Astrology


As a Gemini, I love information, but I also love information that I can experience and therefore become passionate about. Astrology holds a lot of information that was written in the cosmos and I have found that it's been a great energy tool to use as guidance of what we are experiencing at this time. As always, trust your intuition first! 

What Is Astrology?

Astrology is the study of movements of distant cosmic objects, such as stars and planets, and their influence on our lives.

The 12 Zodiac Signs


March 21 - April 20
Element: Fire 
Light: Adventurous, Energetic, Confident, and Passionate
Shadows: Reactive, Impatient, Selfish, and Daredevil

Aries is the first sign of the zodiac and is the beginning of an astrological new year.
They are known to have a childlike nature and the innate ability to achieve anything they desire. They help us be aware of our own energy and vitality. As a fire sign, Arians needs physical exercise to feel their best. 

Crystals: Carnelian, Orange Calcite, Howlite, and Blue Lace Agate



April 21 - May 21
Element: Earth
Light: Homebody, Warm-hearted, Patient, Loving, and Kind
Shadows: Stubborn, Possessive, Jealous, and Complacent 

Taurus is the second sign of the zodiac. Taurus are very approachable, loving, and kind. They are amazing listeners and are willing to offer a shoulder to cry on. They remind us the beauty and joy in earthly pleasures. Taureans do best with peace and harmony in their relationships. 

Crystals: Tree Agate, Pink Opal, Carnelian, and Flower Agate 


May 22 - June 21
Element: Air
Light: Fun, Social, Intellectual, Loves Change, and Spontaneous 
Shadows: Inconsistent, Impatient, Restless, and Superficiality

Gemini is the third sign of the zodiac. They are always open to having fun, socializing, and hate being bored. Geminians love learning, although it can be hard for them to stick to one subject. They do best when using their breath and grounding into their body to stay centered, focused, and harmonious. 

Crystals: Fluorite, Howlite, Zebra Jasper, and Smoky Quartz 


June 22 - July 22
Element: Water
Light: Loving, Nurturing, Sympathetic, and Intuitive
Shadows: Moody, Attached, Overemotional, and Worrisome

Cancer is the fourth sign of the zodiac. They are very empathic, nurturing, loving, and kind. You can feel a Cancerians caring nature when they speak to you. For this reason, they make great loving partners and family members, but can also have the tendency to over worry about those they love. 

Crystals: Larimar, Blue Lace Agate, Rose Quartz, and Jet


July 23 - August 23
Element: Fire
Light: Creative, Enthusiastic, Loving, Faithful, and Loyal
Shadows: Egocentric, Bossy, Dogmatic, and Intolerant

Leo is the fifth sign of the zodiac. Leos want to take action in their passion or purpose for greater good. They seek to be admired and respected. Leos are naturally good leaders, ambitious, and thrive in a work environment where they can express their creative abilities. 

Crystals: Tigers Eye, Ocean Jasper, Ruby, and Sunstone 


August 24 - September 22
Element: Earth
Light: Practical, Modest, Analytical, and Dreamer
Shadows: Perfectionism, Overly Critical, Fussy, and Worrier 

Virgo is the sixth sign of the zodiac. Virgoans are typically talkative, reliable, and practical. They are very hard workers in school, their career, and at home. As an Earth sign, Virgoans thrive in nature with fresh air.  

Crystals: Mookite Jasper, Citrine, Moss Agate, and Petrified Wood 


September 23 - October 23
Element: Air
Light: Easygoing, Peaceful, Gentle, Loving, and Idealistic 
Shadows: Indecisive, Gullible, People Pleaser, and Flirtatious 

Libra is the seventh sign of the zodiac. Librans are all about relationships. They love romance, family time, and make amazing listeners in conversations. They desire a peaceful and harmonious life within them, their loved ones, and everyone they meet.

Crystals: Pink Tourmaline, Lepidolite, Smoky Quartz, and Prehnite with Epidote


October 24 - November 22
Element: Water
Light: Intuitive, Passionate, Rebirth, and Determined
Shadows: Jealousy, Secretive, Obsessive, and Stubborn

Scorpio is the eighth sign of the zodiac. Scorpios have an incredible ability to get straight to the root of any problem. They have a tendency to be stubborn, but when they know change is vital they take the leap necessary. 

Crystals: Black Obsidian, Fire Agate, Garnet, and Unakite


November 23 - December 21
Element: Fire
Light: Honest, Intelligent, Bold, and Optimistic
Shadows: Irresponsible, Restless, Judgmental, and Uncivilized

Sagittarius is the ninth sign of the zodiac. Sagittarians love to take risks, find humor in charming ways, and seeks to discover experiences. They enjoy having a philosophical outlook and have the ability to achieve anything they set themselves up to accomplish.

Crystals: Green Opal, Yellow Calcite, Lapis Lazuli, and Gold Sheen Obsidian 


December 22 - January 20
Element: Earth
Light: Ambitious, Disciplined, Orderly, and Humorous
Shadows: Negative, Calculated, Overly Traditional, and Worrier

Capricorn is the tenth sign of the zodiac. Capricorns are very practical, love to have stability financially for their family, and are very disciplined. Capricorns have a strong sense of humor. They can struggle to express their emotions, especially in their romantic relationships.

Crystals: Serpentine, Black Tourmaline, Tigers Eye, and Lepidolite


January 21 - February 18
Element: Air
Light: Intellectual, Positive, Humanitarian, and Friendly
Shadows: Stubborn, Unpredictable, Detached, and Unemotional  

Aquarius is the eleventh sign of the zodiac. Aquarians teach us that we are all connected as one. They can get stuck in their head, so living in the now moment and in all of life is essential. They are positive, independent, and loyal. 

Crystals: Amazonite, Hematite, Blue Sapphire, and Green Tourmaline


Feburary 19 - March 20
Element: Water
Light: Intuitive, Imaginative, Affectionate, and Sensitive
Shadows: Escapist, Secretive, Ungrounded, and Overly Emotional

Pisces is the twelfth sign of the zodiac. Pisces are empathic, great listeners, creative, and imaginative. In relationships, they express their emotions deeply, romantic, and sentimental. They are friendly, kind, and loving towards their loved ones. 

Crystals: Howlite, Amethyst, Black Tourmaline, and Blue Lace Agate



Wagner, Lisa, Karmic Astrology Fundamentals Course, 2023 

Julia and Derek Parker, 2020, The Definitive Guide to Using Astrology in Every Aspect of Your Life, DK Publishing

More Posts